Roy, Munro, Jordan Among Overseas Platinum Picks In PSL Draft

Jason Roy, Colin Munro, Tim David, Chris Jordan and Hazratullah Zazai were the overseas players picked in the Platinum category while Fakhar Zaman was the lone Pakistan player among the platinum picks in the draft for the 2022 edition of PSL which was conducted on Sunday (December 12).

Roy was Quetta Gladiators' Platinum choice while they also went for James Faulkner in the Diamond category. Ben Duckett, Khurram Shehzad, Afghanistan's Naveen-ul-Haq, Sohail Tanvir and Umar Akmal were Gladiators' Silver picks.

David, who was previously with Lahore Qalandars, was chosen by defending champions Multan Sultans, who also opted for West Indian Odean Smith in the Diamond category. Asif Afridi, Anwar Ali, Imran Khan Snr and Rumman Raees, along with Rovman Powell were Sultans' Silver category picks. Blessing Muzarabani was one of the two Supplementary players picked up the Sultans.

Zaman were chosen as Qalandars' Platinum player for the sixth time on the trot while Abdullah Shafique and the England duo of Harry Brook and Phil Salt were their Gold picks. South Africa's Dean Foxcroft and Kamran Ghulam were Qalandars' Silver picks.

Jordan returned as the Platinum choice of Karachi Kings having missing the 2021 edition while fellow England player Lewis Gregory was roped in from the Diamond category. England Tom Abell was the Kings' pick in the Silver category, along with Mohammad Imran, Rohail Nazir and Umaid Asif.

Zazai was chosen in the Platinum category by Peshawar Zalmi, who also opted for Usman Qadir from Gold, along with Arshad Iqbal, Kamran Akmal, Salman Irshad and Sameen Gul from the Silver category. Australia's Ben Cutting was chosen by them as a Supplementary player.

Islamabad United went with Munro as their Platinum pick – the out of favour New Zealand opener was chosen in the Diamond category last year by the United but he pulled out due to quarantine-related issues. Marchant de Lange was chosen by the United from the Diamond category while England's Reece Topley was their Silver pick along with Danish Aziz, Muhammad Akhlaq and Zafar Gohar. Afghanistan's Rehmanullah Gurbaz was selected as United's Supplementary player.

The seventh edition of the Pakistan Super League will be held from January 27 to February 27. Karachi will host the first 15 matches of the competition while the remaining 19 games will be held in Lahore.

Full squads:

Islamabad United: Asif Ali, Colin Munro, Hasan Ali (both Platinum), Faheem Ashraf, Marchant De Lange, Shadab Khan (Brand Ambassador), Alex Hales (Mentor), Azam Khan, Mohammad Wasim Jnr (all Gold), Danish Aziz, Mohammad Akhlaq, Paul Stirling, Reece Topley, Zafar Gohar (all Silver), Mubasir Khan, Zeeshan Zameer (both Emerging), Rehmanullah Gurbaz and Ather Mehmood (both Supplementary).

Karachi Kings: Babar Azam, Chris Jordan, Imad Wasim (all Platinum), Mohammad Amir, Lewis Gregory, Mohammad Nabi (all Diamond), Joe Clarke (Brand Ambassador), Aamir Yamin, Sharjeel Khan (all both Gold), Mohammad Ilyas, Mohammad Imran, Rohail Nazir, Tom Abell, Umaid Asif (all Silver), Faisal Akram, Qasim Akram (Emerging), Romario Shepherd and Talha Ahsan (both Supplementary).

Lahore Qalandars: Fakhar Zaman, Rashid Khan, Shaheen Shah Afridi, (all Platinum), Haris Rauf (Diamond, Brand Ambassador), David Wiese, Mohammad Hafeez (both Diamond), Abdullah Shafique, Harry Brook, Phil Salt (all Gold), Ahmed Daniyal, Dean Foxcroft, Sohail Akhtar, Kamran Ghulam, Zeeshan Ashraf (all Silver), Maaz Khan, Zaman Khan (both Emerging), Samit Patel and Syed Faridoum Mehmood (Supplementary).

Multan Sultans: Tim David, Mohammad Rizwan, Rilee Rossouw (all Platinum), Imran Tahir (Mentor), Odean Smith (both Diamond), Sohaib Maqsood (Diamond), Khushdil Shah (Brand Ambassador), Shahnawaz Dahani, Shan Masood (all Gold), Anwar Ali, Asif Afridi, Imran Khan Snr, Rumman Raees Rovman Powell (all Silver), Aamer Azmat, Abbas Afridi (both Emerging), Blessing Muzarabani and Ihsanullah (Supplementary).

Peshawar Zalmi: Hazratulah Zazai, Liam Livingstone, Wahab Riaz (all Platinum), Haider Ali, Sherfane Rutherford, Shoaib Malik (all Diamond), Hussain Talat (Gold), Saqib Mahmood (Gold, Brand Ambassador),, Usman Qadir (Gold), Arshad Iqbal, Kamran Akmal (Mentor), Salman Irshad, Sameen Gul, Tom Kohler-Cadmore (all Silver), Mohammad Aamer, Sirajuddin (Emerging), Ben Cutting and Mohammad Haris (both Supplementary).

Quetta Gladiators: James Vince, Jason Roy, Sarfaraz Ahmed (all Platinum), Iftikhar Ahmed, James Faulkner, Mohammad Nawaz (all Diamond), Shahid Afridi (Mentor), Mohammad Hasnain (Brand Ambassador), Naseem Shah (all Gold), Ben Duckett, Khurram Shehzad, Naveen-Ul-Haq, Sohail Tanvir, Umar Akmal (all Silver), Abdul Wahid Bangalzai, Ashar Qureshi (Emerging), Ahsan Ali and Noor Ahmed (Supplementary).

Leave a Reply

Crictable © 2024