Cricket news - Nitin Menon promoted to Elite Panel of ICC Umpires

Menon has offiiciated in 3 Tests, 24 ODIs, 16 T20Is and numerous IPL games.

Menon has offiiciated in 3 Tests, 24 ODIs, 16 T20Is and numerous IPL games.

India's Nitin Menon has been included in the ICC Elite Panel of Umpires for the upcoming season. His appointment took place following the annual review and selection process conducted by the International Cricket Council panel, which included Cricket, Geoff Allardice (ICC General Manager - Cricket, Chairman), Sanjay Manjrekar, and match referees Ranjan Madugalle and David Boon.

The 36-year-old, who has officiated in three Tests, 24 ODIs and 16 T20Is, replaces Nigel Llong and becomes the youngest member of the panel. He also becomes the third Indian after S Venkataraghavan and S Ravi to be a part of ICC Elite Panel of Umpires.

Menon, who left his playing career at the age of 22 to follow his father Narendra's footsteps in umpiring said, "It's a great honour and matter of pride for me to be named in the Elite panel. To be officiating regularly along with the leading umpires and referees of the world is something that I always dreamt of and the feeling has yet to sink in.

"Having already officiated in Tests, ODIs and T20Is as well as in ICC events, I understand the great responsibility that comes with the job. I look forward to the challenges and will do my best at every opportunity I get. I also feel this is a responsibility on me to take Indian umpires forward and help them by sharing my experiences.

"I would like to take this opportunity to thank the Madhya Pradesh Cricket Association, BCCI and ICC for their support and believing in my ability over the years. I would also like to thank my family for their sacrifices and unconditional support throughout my career."

Adrian Griffith, ICC Senior Manager - Umpires and Referees, added, "Nitin has come through our pathway system with very consistent performances. I congratulate him for being selected to the Elite panel and wish him continued success."

Meanwhile, Aleem Dar, Kumar Dharmasena, Marais Erasmus, Chris Gaffaney, Michael Gough, Richard Illingworth, Richard Kettleborough, Bruce Oxenford, Paul Reiffel, Rod Tucker and Joel Wilson have retained their place in the elite panel.